comparison

The Best AI Tools for a Personalized Gift Book in 2026 (Printed and Shipped)

A gift is an object with a deadline. We compared the AI storybook tools that print and ship a real book on cost to the door, delivery time, personalisation depth and last-minute options.

ReadKidz Team 12 min read

Key points

  1. Only half the category actually posts you a book

    Of the ten AI storybook tools we checked in August 2026, five print and ship a physical book, one supplies a print-ready PDF you take to a printer yourself, and four are digital only.
  2. The price on the pricing page is not the price at the door

    A personalised hardcover lands between 24.99 and 39.99 USD before shipping across the tools that publish a price, and shipping is only included by LoveToRead within the United States.
  3. How late you can leave it

    Printed personalised books quote roughly one to two weeks of delivery, so a physical gift needs ordering well before the date; a narrated digital book can be made in minutes.
  4. Personalisation depth varies more than price does

    Some tools personalise only the name, while others build the main character from an uploaded photo and hold that likeness consistent across every page.
  5. Where Wonderbly and the template gift books fit

    Wonderbly sells professionally written and illustrated titles with the child's name inserted, from 24.99 USD per copy and dispatched in 2 to 4 working days; an AI tool writes a new story for that one child and lets you change a page before it prints.

The short answer

If the gift has to arrive as a physical book, only five AI storybook tools will actually manufacture and post one: ReadKidz, Story Spark, LoveToRead, Lullaby and Imajinn.

We make one of these tools, and we have written the parts where we are the wrong choice into the piece rather than leaving them out.

Only half the category actually posts you a book

The word print is used loosely across this category, and for a gift the difference is everything. Some tools mean they will manufacture a hardcover and post it to your address. Others mean they will give you a PDF and you can print it yourself.

Here is the split, checked on 31 August 2026 (how we check):

ToolPrints and shipsWhat you actually get
ReadKidzYesHardcover, square trim, heavy matte stock, posted; 300 DPI PDF also available
Story SparkYesHardcover at 21cm by 21cm, posted; states delivery to twelve countries
LoveToReadYesPremium hardback, 24.99 USD, free US shipping
Lullaby.inkYesSoftcover, hardcover or layflat, from 29.99 USD
ImajinnYes30-page custom book, 7 to 14 business days
Magical HekayaNoHigh-resolution print-ready PDF you take to a printer
StoryWizardNoDigital only
BedtimeStory.aiNoDigital only
Oscar StoriesNoAudio stories
StoryPixNoDigital, with video export

The price on the pricing page is not the price at the door

Three different pricing shapes are in play, and they are not directly comparable.

Pay per book. Story Spark lists 29.99 USD for a storybook, 39.99 USD for a book and 29.99 USD for a comic book. Lullaby is 14.99 USD for a digital book and from 29.99 USD printed. These are the easiest to reason about for a one-off gift.

Buy credits, then print. LoveToRead sells credit packs at 9.99 USD for 100 and 19.99 USD for 225, with lifetime platform access, and prints a hardback for 24.99 USD including US shipping. If you only ever make one book, the credits are an extra step but the print price is the lowest published here.

Subscribe, then add print. ReadKidz starts free with no credit card, then 10 USD per month, or 9 USD billed annually. The printed hardcover is a separate add-on charged on top, with delivery time and cost shown before you pay. This shape is good value if you will make several books and poor value for exactly one.

Two tools do not publish a price at all. Imajinn does not list one on the pages we could read, and the Oscar Stories pricing page returned a 404 on 31 August 2026.

How late you can leave it

This is the question gift buyers actually have, and almost nobody answers it plainly.

Imajinn is the only tool here that publishes a delivery window: 7 to 14 business days. Treat that as representative of printed personalised books generally. Add the time you will spend writing and revising the story, and a printed gift wants two to three weeks of runway.

Inside that window, your realistic options are:

  1. A narrated digital book. Magical Hekaya delivers in minutes from 4.99 USD, with audio and a print-ready PDF included.
  2. Print it yourself. ReadKidz exports a 300 DPI print-ready PDF; a local print shop can bind it in a day or two.
  3. Give the digital book now, post the hardcover later. A shareable link on the day, the object when it arrives.

Personalisation depth varies more than price does

There are two very different things being sold under the same word.

Name-only personalisation swaps a name into a pre-written story. It is fast and cheap, and to a child it often reads as exactly what it is.

Photo-driven personalisation builds the main character from a picture of the actual child and holds that appearance consistent across every page. ReadKidz, Lullaby, Magical Hekaya and Imajinn all do this. Lullaby additionally lets you re-cast the character with a new photo or description after the fact.

If the reason you are buying this gift is so a child sees themselves in a book, pay for the second kind.

Where Wonderbly and the template gift books fit

The best-known name in personalised children's books is not an AI tool at all. Wonderbly sells titles written and illustrated by professionals, with the child's name and a few details inserted; its Lost My Name book is 22 pages, from 24.99 USD per copy, and is printed and dispatched in 2 to 4 working days (product page, captured 4 September 2026). Hooray Heroes, I See Me! and Librio work the same way.

That is a different product from everything else on this page, and for some gifts it is the better one: the art is finished, the story has been read by thousands of families, and it arrives fast. Choose a template book when the child's name in a proven story is enough and the date is close.

Choose an AI-made book when the child should be the actual hero. The plot, the setting and what the character looks like are yours to shape, you can change a single page before it prints, and the digital copy stays with you after the printed one is wrapped. If that is the gift you want, make an AI personalized children's book and print it as a hardcover from 20 USD.

The gift comparison table

ToolCost to the doorDeliveryPhoto likenessLanguages
LoveToRead24.99 USD, free US shippingNot publishedYesNot disclosed
Lullaby.inkFrom 29.99 USD plus shippingNot publishedYes, re-castable3
Story Spark29.99 to 39.99 USD plus shippingNot publishedLimited6
ReadKidzPlan plus print add-on, shown before paymentShown before paymentYes25
ImajinnNot disclosed7 to 14 business daysYesEnglish only
Magical Hekaya4.99 USD, you print itMinutes, digitalYes, photo-real6

The five that print, one by one

LoveToRead — cheapest to the door

A premium hardback for 24.99 USD with free US shipping, which is the lowest published all-in price in this comparison. You buy credits first — 9.99 USD for 100, 19.99 USD for 225, with lifetime platform access — then pay for print separately. It also states you own full rights to print, gift or publish the result — welcome clarity for a gift purchase, though ReadKidz makes the same grant in its terms of service. Language support is not disclosed, so it is a poor fit if the recipient does not read English.

Lullaby.ink — best photo likeness

Built around a photo: a person becomes an illustrated character you can re-cast later with a different photo or description. Digital is 14.99 USD per story; printed starts at 29.99 USD with a choice of softcover, hardcover or layflat binding. Layflat is worth the upgrade for a young child, because the pages sit open without being held. Three published languages.

Story Spark — widest format choice

A hardcover at 21cm by 21cm, from 29.99 USD for a storybook or 39.99 USD for a book, with comics and a search-and-find format also available. It states delivery to twelve countries and offers a dedication page, which is a small thing that matters a great deal on a gift. Six languages, none of them East Asian.

ReadKidz — best when the gift crosses a border

Hardcover on heavy matte stock, square trim, printed and posted, with delivery time and cost shown before payment. The distinguishing feature for gifting is 25 languages: the same personalised book can be made in the language the recipient actually reads. Character can be built from an uploaded photo and held consistent across pages. Pricing is a plan plus a print add-on rather than a single per-book price, which is worse value for exactly one book and better value if you make several.

Imajinn — most hands-off

You supply a few details and a photo; they create, print and ship a 30-page book, quoted at 7 to 14 business days, with an eBook available inside 24 hours if you need something sooner. It is the only tool here publishing a delivery window, which is genuinely helpful. It does not publish pricing, and serves English only.

What a good gift book actually contains

Beyond the story, four things separate a keepsake from a novelty.

A dedication page. The thing the recipient reads first and keeps longest. Story Spark offers one explicitly; on other tools you can usually write one into the first page.

A page count that suits the age. Twelve pages for a two-year-old, thirty for a seven-year-old. A 30-page book given to a toddler gets abandoned halfway; a 12-page book given to a confident reader is over before it starts.

Binding that survives a child. Hardcover for anyone under five. Layflat if the book will be read on a lap or a floor.

A story that is about them, not starring them. The most-reread personalised books tend to put the child in a situation they recognise, rather than making them a hero. A book about the day the family got the dog beats a book about defeating a dragon, most of the time.

What to check before you pay

  1. Do they even ship to your country? Only LoveToRead states free shipping, and only within the United States. Story Spark states delivery to twelve countries. If you are outside the usual list, check this before anything else, because no feature matters if the parcel cannot reach you.
  2. Is there a subscription underneath the print price? On subscription tools the book is an add-on, not the whole cost.
  3. What language will the recipient read it in? This is the one that gets forgotten, and it is the one that cannot be fixed after printing.
  4. Can you see the whole book before it is manufactured? Preview every page, not just the cover.
  5. How many pages? Page counts vary with reading age; a 12-page book and a 32-page book are different gifts at similar prices.

What ReadKidz is for, and what it is not

ReadKidz suits the gift that has to work at the other end. The book is built from your idea and, if you want, from a photo, so the child is recognisably the main character; then it is printed as a hardcover on heavy matte stock and posted, with the delivery time and cost shown before you pay. It is published in 25 languages, which is why it tends to be the answer when the book is going to a grandparent in Taipei, a cousin in Seoul or a classroom in Bangkok. If the date is too close for post, the same book exports as a 300 DPI print-ready PDF or a shareable link the same day.

It is the wrong choice in two cases:

Key data

AI storybook tools that print and ship a physical book
5 of 10
Source: vendor product and pricing pages, captured 31 August 2026 · 2026
Lowest published all-in hardcover price
24.99 USD with free US shipping
Source: lovetoread.ai pricing page · 2026
Printed book delivery window quoted by Imajinn
7 to 14 business days
Source: imajinn.ai storybook page · 2026
Cheapest instant narrated digital book
4.99 USD
Source: magicalhekaya.com pricing page · 2026
Languages a ReadKidz gift book can be printed in
25
Source: readkidz.com picture book page · 2026
Wonderbly Lost My Name, per copy
24.99 USD, 22 pages, dispatched in 2 to 4 working days
Source: wonderbly.com product page, captured 4 September 2026 · 2026

Where ReadKidz fits

Questions parents ask

Which AI storybook tools actually print and post a book?

Five, as of August 2026: ReadKidz, Story Spark, LoveToRead, Lullaby and Imajinn. Magical Hekaya gives you a print-ready PDF but does not manufacture or ship. StoryWizard, BedtimeStory.ai, Oscar Stories and StoryPix are digital only.

How much does a personalised AI hardcover cost?

Between 24.99 and 39.99 USD before shipping among the tools publishing a price in August 2026. LoveToRead is 24.99 USD with free US shipping, Lullaby starts at 29.99 USD, and Story Spark lists 29.99 USD for a storybook and 39.99 USD for a book.

How long before the birthday should I order?

Allow two to three weeks for a printed book. Imajinn quotes 7 to 14 business days for printing and shipping, and that is before you spend time on the story itself.

Can the book use my child photo and name?

Yes with several tools. ReadKidz, Lullaby, Magical Hekaya and Imajinn build the main character from an uploaded photo and keep that appearance consistent across pages. The name goes straight into the story on all of them.

What if the gift is for a child who does not read English?

Of the tools that print and ship, ReadKidz publishes in 25 languages and Story Spark in 6. If the book is going to grandparents or cousins abroad, check the language list before you check the price.